Manuel Baca

About Us  /  About the Foundation  /  Executive Team  /  Manuel Baca

Manuel Baca, Vice Chair of the Board

Manuel Baca headshotManuel Baca is a political science professor at Rio Hondo College where he previously served on the Academic Senate Executive Committee. His professional experience includes holding a number of faculty and administrative positions within the California State University and California Community Colleges systems. Baca is currently a member of the governing board of the Mt. San Antonio Community College District and has, in addition, served on several statewide commissions and committees.

In 2005, Baca was a member of the California Community Colleges System Strategic Plan Steering Committee where he and other state leaders developed the Community College System Strategic Plan for California. In 2011, Baca was a member of the California Community Colleges Student Success Task Force that made 22 specific policy recommendations to improve educational achievement within the California Community Colleges. Those recommendations later became the foundation of the landmark Student Success Act of 2012. Baca holds a Ph.D. in education from the University of Southern California. His graduate and undergraduate degrees were earned at California State University, Fullerton (CSUF) where he was honored as one of 50 successful Latino alumni during the university’s 50th anniversary in 2007.

He was featured in a CSUF special photo exhibit called “Querer es Poder,” which in Spanish means “if you have the desire, you can achieve.” Baca also possesses an associate degree from Rio Hondo College where, in recognition of his service and contributions to Rio Hondo College, he was named as a Fellow of the College. His military service with the United States Marine Corps includes having served a tour of duty in Vietnam. Long active within the San Gabriel Valley and the greater Los Angeles area, Baca serves or previously served as a member of many community-based and civic organizations.

Management Team

Keetha Mills
President and Chief Executive Office

John O'Sullivan
Vice President of Finance and Chief Financial Officer

Joseph Quintana
Vice President of Program Development

Melissa Conner
Vice President of Advancement

Mark Carlock
Vice President of Environmental Programs
Director of Air Quality

Bryan Miller
Executive Director of Communications and Technology

Paul Steenhausen
Executive Director
Success Center for California Community Colleges

Board of Directors 2015

Lance Izumi
Chair of the Board

Manuel Baca
Vice Chair of the Board

James Sargen

Patricia Sullivan

Isabel Barreras

Mario Camara

Dan Noell

Alice Perez

Arnoldo Avalos

Foundation for California
Community Colleges

1102 Q Street, Suite 3500
Sacramento, CA 95811

Toll Free: 866.325.3222
Fax: 916.325.0844

Contact us >

Supporting our Work

Help the Foundation further its mission to benefit, support, and enhance the California Community Colleges.

Get involved >

Who we serve

The Foundation serves as the official foundation supporting the Board of Governors, Chancellor’s Office, and the entire California Community College system, including 113 colleges and 72 districts, serving 2.1 million students.

Map iconView a map of the 113 California Community Colleges >